Home
Arriving:
Nights:
 
BEST RATE GUARANTEE
Promotional Code:
Signup for our Newsletter  
Reviews 10Reviews 20Reviews 30Reviews 40Reviews 50Reviews 60Reviews  70Reviews 80Reviews 90Reviews 100Reviews 110
Wedding Showcase  >>>
WEEKEND SPECIAL We have a few rooms remaining this weekend and ha >>>

Reviews

Below is some of the feedback and press coverage we have received recently.  We always appreciate feedback whether good or bad, if you wish to contact us regarding your recent stay, please email us on reservations@woodenbridgehotel.com or post your review on TripAdvisor.

 

Guest Reviews

I just can't say enough nice things about Woodenbridge. The location is gorgeous, the staff and locals are so friendly and the food is mouth watering.My sister had her wedding here, we had the best day possible. The hotel has a cosy homely feel to it, and I love all the memorabilia on the walls. I'll be back very soon for Sunday lunch. Thank you all in Woodenbridge.

Reviewed 22 August 2012 TripAdvisor

 

We had a great stay at a friends wedding here, they were very friendly from arrival to departure and the staff even remembered our names. It is this attention to detail that makes a Hotel rememberable. We would receommend and will be back, (Have the steak and the house Red).

Reviewed 18 August 2012 TripAdvisor

 

Woodenbridge is a wonderful place, nestled in beautiful scenery. We stayed there as it is a great starting place for walks. We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, far away from the city slicker life. This is a family run hotel, with lots of attention to detail and the best Irish hospitality can offer (we got plenty of tips for trips around the area). Our rooms had beautiful views (the views are truly magnificent) across the countryside and were spotlessly clean. I also liked the charming interior (not a big fan of soulless standard hotel rooms), it was very tastefully decorated.Thumbs up also on the food, we had several dinners in the hotel, which all were seasonal and delicious (and mostly locally sourced).This little hidden gem might not be for everyone, but for those who want to experience real Irish hospitality and fab home-cooked food.It made our trip to Ireland very special. Thanks to all staff for the nice break, we certainly will be back!

Reviewed 15 August 2012 TripAdvisor

 

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in July. The staff were very friendly and the food was of a good quality, especially the breakfast. It is apparently one of the oldest hotels in Ireland and its history is captured in the nice collection of old photographs and paintings that decorate the walls. It has a very authentic and warm atmosphere. Our room was located in the original part of the hotel and we were lucky enough to have a stunning view of the picturesque Vale of Avoca. Overall,we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Reviewed 15 August 2012 TripAdvisor

 

Myself and my husband have just spent 3 lovely days at your hotel and I have to say a huge thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.Thanks again, Bernadette.

By email, 24 August

 

We 12 Golfers had the pleasure of spending 5 Days with B+B and Dinner at the Hotel on arrival we found the rooms perfect and the daily servicing kept them that way.During our stay at all times we found all the Staff very friendly and helpfull.Dinner we took in the restaurant each evening and could not have better the service was 5*.We booked a package with Golf through the Hotel selecting the courses we wished to play and everything was as we requested. Friday and Saturday night there was live entertainment in the Bar that was very good.If you are looking for value for money then this is a must.

Reviewed 24 April 2012 TripAdvisor

 

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Woodenbridge Hotel. Everything in the hotel was immaculate, the room was perfect, good size and cleaned every day. The food in the restaurant and the bar was delicious, lots of variety. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect, while it is easy to get to from the motorway, it seems a million miles away when you get there. The walks from the hotel are amazing, there is a footpath from the hotel to the Meeting of the Waters, but you can stray off the beaten track across the copper mines or other side roads which lead to amazing views. The hotel has retained its character which is lovely to see, it hasnt got carried away with bringing everything up to the modern standards. This would take away from the hotel. We will definetely be back.

Reviewed 29 February 2012 TripAdvisor

 

I am just back from a weekend at the Woodenbridge Hotel. What a beautiful Hotel full of History , charm and wonderful staff. The food was top class and the views from the rooms are to die for. A special word of thanks to Tom the barman who remembered my drink without having to ask and to Ger the manager who organised a round of golf and recommended some beautiful walks.
I cannot fault this hotel, If you are looking for a hotel with character, old fashioned Irish Hospitality and somewhere to recharge the batteries than you cant go wrong with the Woodenbridge. Heres to the next 405 years!!

Reviewed 10 November 2011 TripAdvisor

 

My husband and I spent 1 night at the woodenbridge. It is set in a beautiful location, very quiet and picturesque. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and we instantly new we were going to enjoy our stay. We stayed in the lodge - the room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The room was nicely furnished and we had a peaceful nights sleep with no outside noise to disturb us. The bar was very atmospheric and we found the prices reasonable. We ate in the restaurant and the standard of food was superb. The breakfast was equally good with a wide variety offered. The customer service was excellant and is obviously a priority to the Team. We would recommend this to any traveller in Ireland - we hope to stay here again!

Reviewed 22 June 2011 TripAdvisor

 

Have just been on a golf trip with a large group of friends and used this hotel as our base to stay between rounds of golf. The Hotel staff were excellent in helping to to sort out serveral comlplex matters and being flexible to all our needs.
The quality of food at breakfast was tremendous and more than most of us could manage. Evening meals had plenty of variety and were served quickly and with great warmth from the splendid staff. 
Afetr a long day there is nothing better than finding an attractive and friendly bar with a good range of beer and that is just what the hotel provides. There was also some lovely music played each night and even the visitors joined in the singing and it all added to a great atmosphere which improved as the night went on!
The rooms here are of a nice large size and value for money was excellent.

Reviewed 1 June 2011 TripAdvisor

 

Press Coverage

Irish Examiner

Celebrating 400 years of touristic excellence
 
The Woodenbridge hotel is one of Ireland's oldest hotels (1608) located in the Wicklow mountains national park, Ireland. It was here that Michael Collins, hero of the War of Independence, engaged in secret meetings with British Intelligence in February. 1922
 
Download Article
 

Irish Independent

Klondike: Irish-style ... 
 
After an hour or so, I seek solace in the nearby Woodenbridge Hotel, the country's oldest Inn.
 
Established in 1608 and now branded under the chain, Best Western, it gets American tourists by the coach-load. In its 400-year history it can't have seen a busier time than the autumn of 1795. "Do you get many people looking for gold around here?" I ask the woman on reception. She regards me in the way one might a dangerous dog.

Download Article

 

Sunday Mirror

You Woodn't Holiday ...

Naomi 'McElroy discovers a Bridge not too far from Dublin and it's well worth the visit for a relaxing step back in time.

IF YOU're looking for the perfect relaxing weekend break, historic, culture-packed trip or adventurous hike through some of the most beautiful countryside on the planet then there's just one place to go — the Woodenbridge Hotel.

And best of all, there's no annoying queuing up in airports and sorting all your stuff into little plastic bags. That's because the Woodenbridge is right here in Ireland.

Download Article

 

Food & Wine Magazine

History lessons ...

The Woodenbridge Hotel, in the Vale of Avoca in Wicklow, is celebrating its 400th birthday! For many years the hotel was a popular staging post for merchants engaged in commerce between Dublin and the south east.

Eamon De Valera spent his honeymoon at the hotel and Michael Collins also stayed at the hotel while engaging in secret meetings with senior British Army officers in February 1922.

Download Article

 

Sunday World

Nestled in one of Wicklow's prettiest Valleys ...
 
On the banks of the Avoca River, Woodenbridge hotel boasts breath-taking surroundings.

it is true that most lodgings in this part of the country benefit from stunning scenery, but what sets Woodenbridge apart is its rich historical background (it is Ireland's oldest hotel) and the warm welcome and personal service that you can only get from a family- run hotel such as this.

Download Article
 
 

Mail on Sunday

Great Escapes ...

The Wicklow Hills set a less strenuous test for the old hiking boots, and Footfalls Holidays - (0404) 45152 or www.walking hiking ireland.com has teamed up with Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge - where you can stay in Eamon de Valera's honeymoon suite

Download Article

 

Irish Times

The Woodenbridge Hotel - Eamon and Sinead de Valera honeymoon Suite ...
 
CLAIMING YOU'RE the oldest anything in a country full of history anoraks is a tricky business, but Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, in Co Wicklow, is sticking firmly to its story that it is the oldest hotel in Ireland. Its claim seems solid enough, as it's based on the licensing of a coaching inn that stood on the spot in 1608 and for a couple of centuries afterwards.
 
Download Article
 

Wicklow People

400 years of top class service ...

ANY business that maintains a bustling trade over four centuries must be doing something right and now that the Woodenbridge Hotel in the Vale of Avoca has reached its 400th anniversary customers are in for a special celebration.

This traditional and formidable venue has everything that true family- run business offers including that personal touch and attention to detail that is often lost when a business expands. The Woodenbridge Hotel has kept its abundance of charm and its relaxed and welcoming atmosphere is as appealing today as ever before.

Download Article 
 

Bray People

An ideal location for your Wedding ...

BEST Western Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge is the ideal venue for your wedding reception.

As a family run hotel it can tailor make a package to suit your needs, and we will be there on the day to ensure everything runs exactly as planned.

Download Article

Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Co. Wicklow, Ireland   T: +353 (0402) 35146   E: