Home
Arriving:
Nights:
 
BEST RATE GUARANTEE
Promotional Code:
Signup for our Newsletter  
Wedding 50Wedding 50
Summer Golf Breaks
 Looking for a Golfing Break?  Woodenbridge Hotel in Wi >>>
Wedding Showcase
Our next Wedding Showcase takes place on Sunday 8th June from 2.00 - 5 >>>

Wedding Reviews

Testimonials

 Hi Julie-Ann

I hope you are are well. Derek and I just want to say a huge thank you to yourself and all who were involved in our wedding day. Everything was amazing! The food was fantastic and everyone has complimented on it. It is by far the best food we have eaten on any occasion.The room looked fantastic and thanks so much to everyone who put our flowers on the tables there were great compliments about the sunflowers. Everything from start to finish was fantastic and everything we asked for was done perfectly. The atmosphere in the hotel on the day was brilliant. It is cosy and inviting and relaxed. I'm quite sure from the compliments we have heard the hotel will see more of our friends and family.

Please pass on our thanks to everyone who was involved in making our day that extra bit special.

Thank you again

Melissa and Derek

Reviewed July 2014 by email

 

I couldn't recommend it enough we had are wedding there three weeks ago, it was fantastic, the best day ever.  The staff are great couldn't do enough for us the food and just everything about the place was amazing.  Well worth a look if your planning your big day x

Mairead & Donal

Reviewed October 2013 via Facebook

 

Well worth a visit.  I got married there last month & it was amazing..all the staff are great, couldn't do enough, beautiful hotel  and fab scenery x

Leona & Brian

Reviewed October 2013 via Facebook

 

 

Hi Esther & Sinead,

Myself and James wanted to get in touch to say a huge thank you from us, our parents, families and all our guests for an amazing wedding day, everything in the hotel was as we wanted it, it was perfect. It all went off swimmingly, both ourselves and our guests received such a welcome and everyone was well catered for and we couldn't have asked for better service.

We will truly cherish the experience and remember every minute of it so again thanks so much for everything in the lead up and on the wedding day, it was all fantastic.

Kind Regards,

Pauline & James

Reviewed September 2013 by email

 

Dear Gerard and Sinéad,

We wanted to thank you and the staff at Woodenbridge for the amazing help and support we got on  our wedding day on 4th July 2013.  The day ran flawlessly and we and our wedding guests were impressed at how well every aspect went.  We had the run of the place and enjoyed every second!  Sinead, we would like to thank you so much for your help leading up to, and of course on our wedding day, every detail from the food choices to the American flags was perfect.  Thank you so much.

Melina & Alan 

Reviewed September 2013 by card

 

To all the staff at Woodenbridge,

Your service was more than professional and impressed every guest.  The food and service were the best we've seen in a long time.  Thank you for all your hard work.

Jenny & Shaun

Reviewed 12 September 2013 by card

 

Dear Woodenbridge Hotel and Lodge

We had our wedding here yesterday have to say a big thank you to all the management and staff at the Woodenbridge for making our day so special, the food was fab, service was fab, thank you.

Martina & Wayne

Reviewed 28 July 2013 via Facebook

 

 

 

“Excellent family-run hotel in a beautiful part of Ireland”

We had our wedding at this hotel over a weekend, and were absolutely delighted with how it turned out. The staff really take care of you - the attention to detail is second to none, and the atmosphere is wonderful (as is the food!) They are very good about small details, like providing complementary tea and coffee while you're waiting for taxis and so on, and they're excellent value. We were left with such good memories that it's now our first choice of hotel when we're in the area, and on a recent stay we were amused to find that the staff had remembered us, and booked us back into the bridal suite!  Would recommend this hotel to anyone planning on staying in the area!

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via TripAdvisor

 

 

 

Dear Sinead,

Just a short note to thank you for the splendid job you did in co-ordinating Niamh & Davids wedding on the 2nd May last, everything went to plan without a hitch. I was delighted that you were able to come to the rescue with the music at the last minute, I was very worried that we would not have any music at all, until you were able to sort it out for us.

There were many people in Woodenbridge Hotel we need to thank for the smooth operation of every detail of the day, thanks to the bar staff, waitress's & waiters, a big "thank you" to the chef & his team, the food was delicious & I got a lot of very good feedback about that & nobody was left waiting, my young 6 year old grandson was delighted with his coeliac friendly meal, as was Niamh.

My room was very comfortable as were the family rooms for my family, breakfast the next morning was great for Niamh as you were able to supply her with gluten & wheat free toast, so often not available in other hotels, the breakfast staff the next morning were lovely.

All the small things I noticed such as the window boxes planted with fresh flowers added to ambiance of the day & gave a fresh look to the building, among other things.

Sinead, you did a wonderful job in co-ordinating every little detail, not an easy job, making sure everyone was in place for the ceremony & getting all those drinkers away from the bar, definitely not an easy job. Anything we wanted or needed we just had to ask.

Thank you Sinead, I hope you are well appreciated for the job that you have done, because I very much appreciate all your hard work in making my daughter's day a huge success. Niamh & David had a magical day & couldn't have asked for more from all the staff of the Woodenbridge Hotel.

Gerard you have a little gem there in Sinead & she is a lovely girl, thank you all so much.

Yours Sincerly

Anne, David & Niamh.

Reviewed 12th May 2013 By email

 

 

Hi,

I got married in your hotel this year and now that the panic and honeymoon is over, I wanted to give a little note to say how much we enjoyed the day. Lorcan, who was looking after us was wonderful. He tended to our every needs and more.

The day could not have gone better. The room was beautiful and the food was amazing. Everybody complimented us on the day as to how wonderful the hotel was and we really appricate it.

Thank you again,

Joyce and James

Reviewed 2nd July 2013 By email

 

 

Congratulations to the Woodenbridge. We have a very special love for this hotel. Our wedding in 2002 was the most fantastic weekend we ever had. The staff, food and atmosphere was the complete package along with the first class treatment we received on our special day. Superb.

Reviewed 25th June 2013 By Facebook

 

 

 

“Fantastic Wedding Experience”

We recently held our Wedding at Woodenbridge hotel. We can honestly say that we would recommend this hotel if you are planning your wedding. We are both originally from the area but live in London, and it was always going to be a worry planning a wedding in a different country to where we live.

We met the hotel owner Esther mid 2011 to discuss our plans and what the Woodenbridge Hotel could offer as regards to Wedding packages. There is a good choice to suit most budgets, and as we explained what we wanted Esther kept repeating leave it with me, I will look after it. We did have our concerns and Esther put our minds at rest by explaining her business and her reputation depends on her taking care of these types of events every week as the hotel is always busy.

When we phoned the hotel with inquiries and requests it never mattered who we spoke to all the staff were always helpful and made sure our requests were carried out .

Esther was true to her word, and everything was perfect on the day.We had the candelabra reception and it looked fantastic and it all went to plan. Our guests were very complimentary about the food and the whole reception, and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

We spent the next day at the hotel along with family and friends and the main thing for us was the exceptional service from the staff and the fact that nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is a bit dated as it is the oldest hotel in Ireland,hence everything is not fully modern and up to date, but this only adds to the character of the hotel and the experience to your stay. The surrounding area is so beautiful and has good golf and fishing facilities alongside the hotel.

Reviewed 16 July 2012, TripAdvisor

 

“Excellent hotel venue- wonderful food and staff.”

We had a magnificent wedding day in late June. Hotel was wonderful for civil cermony. Food was outstanding, fillet steak for 80 people, with all tastes catered for. All guests complementary for both bedrooms in the main hotel or lodge. The care and attention provided by all the staff was second to none. Any request to Gerard, Ester or Lorcan was never a problem. Flexibility to our needs and customer needs was a priority and well catered for. A wonderful wedding day will stay with us, our family and friends forever, and the hotel staff were a huge contribution to making that happen. The barbecue the following day allowed friends to stay and meet each other in a relaxing manner. Excellent location for a wedding.

Reviewed 23 July 2012, TripAdvisor

 

Hi Gerard,

I just wanted to email to say thank you so much for everything you and the rest of the staff at the hotel did for us on the weekend of our wedding. From the minute we started planning our wedding right up to when we checked out we couldn't have asked for more helpful and friendly service. Both yourself and Karen were extremely helpful and patient with all my emails making enquiries and changes and there was never an issue with anything we asked for. On the day itself Lorcan and all the staff were brilliant and again everything we asked for was taken care of with no problems. This excellent service carried on right through the weekend until the final stragglers left on Monday morning. We couldn't have chosen a better venue for our wedding and we weren't the only ones that felt so as all of our guests said the same thing.

Kind Regards,

Deirdre & John

Received by email on 17 April 2012

 

 

We had our wedding in the hotel in late March 2012 and we felt that the least we could do would be to come on here and give an excellent recommendation. Right from the off the owners and staff were very helpful to us. The accommodation was very reasonable for our guests and the food is just fantastic.

The reception room looked beautiful on the day. The staff were excellent. They were very fast and friendly and we were incredibly well looked after. The hotel is a five minute drive from the meeting of the waters, which is a stunning area for pictures - that said we took a lot in the small garden at the front of the hotel, which is also very nice.

If you're planning to have your wedding here, then I'd recommend staying a night or two afterwards. The hotel is in a lovely setting and is a very very nice place to chill out after the chaos, also, the owners continued to look after us.

When we viewed it initially, we honestly thought it was too good to be true and were hesitant as we had a long trip from the church to this venue, but it lived up to all our expectations in the end. Absolutely delighted we chose it - so worth it - and now we are just looking forward to going back on our anniversary : ).

Reviewed 12 April 2012 TripAdvisor

 

We had our wedding reception in the Woodenbridge Hotel , it was just so perfect & Magical , the food was just perfection top quality , the staff were so Friendly & professional ,and would bend over backwards to help with any little problem that you may have . The Hotel itself has a feeling of being at home, it’s so warm and welcoming and comfortable!!! Our guests haven’t stopped talking about the reception and have all said that they are going back, we spent a few days there and meet some lovely local people .The scenery is breathtaking. We will be going back to spend some time there again. Thank you to Gerard & All the Staff of the Woodenbridge, we would most certainly would urge everyone to go and visit and try the food etc.

Reviewed 12 April 2012 TripAdvisor

 

 

Hi Gerard & Staff

We just wanted to say thank you so much for our wonderful magical day in your Hotel on our Wedding Day, from start to finish everything was just perfect, the food was just fantastic, the staff were just so professional & friendly and the hotel itself is just so warm & homely. It was like home! All Our guests spoke about the hotel & food & staff for days and are still talking about it .

Thank you very much

Kindest Regards

Liz & Kevin

Received by email on 11 April 2012

 

 

 

 

Dear Esther, Gerard, Lorcan & all the staff at The Woodenbridge Hotel,

Thank you for looking after us so well on our wedding day. Everything was perfect and the atmosphere and warmth created a really great buzz amongst our guests.

We are so thankful for everything you did for us.

Thanks again,

Breda & Edward

29th October 2011

 

 

''Dear Gerard & Staff,

We would just like to say a huge thank you for helping to make our wedding day perfect. The Function room looked amazing and it was everything we could of wished and hoped for and more. The service was superb and the food out of this world. You should be so proud of your staff as they are a credit to you.

Everyone that was at the wedding and stayed in the Hotel have said how welcoming it was and that we couldn't of picked a nicer place for our wedding which we agree with. So thank you once again for giving us the best day ever.

Sabrina & Ciaran Kehoe

Wedding 28th October 2010.

Received by email on the 14th January 2011.

 

 

"To Esther and Staff,

We would like to convey our sincere thanks to you & the Hotel staff, for the planning and organizing of our daughter Elaine's wedding reception.

The Bride & Groom and the guests enjoyed the meal, and found the staff very friendly & helpful.

Those guests who stayed the night before and the night of the wedding and one or two who stayed on for a few days afterwards all enjoyed their stay very much.

Jennifer & Tom

Received by post 1st January 2011

 

Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Co. Wicklow, Ireland   T: +353 (0402) 35146   E: